Undergraduate school

School of Fisheries Sciences (Undergraduate school)

Students who enter the School of Fisheries Sciences study general subjects at the Sapporo campus during their first year. At the end of the first year, each student is assigned to one of four departments based on the academic results of the first year and the student’s wishes: 1) Marine Biology, 2) Applied Marine Science, 3) Aquaculture Life Science, or 4) Marine Bioresources Chemistry. In their second year, the students study specialized subjects in their department at Sapporo. After completing the second year, the students move to the Hakodate campus for more specialized study and experimental work during their third and fourth years. Students receive one unit of credit for each of the following: 15 hours of lectures, 30 hours of seminars, 45 hours of laboratory work and practical training. Students who complete the required courses and units receive a bachelor’s degree in fisheries science.The undergraduate school comprises four departments. Each department comprises 3-5 sections:

Department Related laboratories, chairs and research institutes
Marine Biology Marine Biology and Biodiversity
Marine Bioresource Science
Marine Environmental Science
Interdisciplinary Sustainability Studies
Marine Chemical Resource Development
Applied Marine Science Marine Environmental Science
Marine Environment and Resource Sensing
Fisheries Engineering
Interdisciplinary Sustainability Studies
Aquaculture Life Science Aquaculture Biology
Aquaculture Genetics and Genomics
Marine Biotechnology and Microbiology
Marine Bioresources Chemistry Marine Bioresources Chemistry
Marine Food Science and Technology
Marine Chemical Resource Development

Numbers of undergraduate students (as of May 2021)

Undergraduates Research students Special auditors Credit students TOTAL
1st year 2nd year 3rd year 4th year Subtotal
217 218 220 655 3 0 2 660