HOKKAIDO UNIVERSITY FISHERIES SCIENCES

Japanese HOKKAIDO UNIVERSITY

Academic calendar

Academic calendar 2019-2020

Event Date(s)
April Welcome ceremony, guidance (3rd year undergraduate students) April 1 (Mon)
Entrance ceremony, guidance (1st year graduate students) April 2 (Tue)
Spring semester begins April 4 (Thu)
Spring term (undergraduate students) April 4 (Thu) – July 25 (Thu)
Spring term (graduate students) April 4 (Thu) – August 6 (Mon)
On-line course registration period (spring, summer terms) April 17 (Wed) – April 23 (Tue)
May Course confirmation and cancellation period (spring, summer terms) May 8 (Wed) – May 9 (Thu)
June/July No classes (preparation for University Festival) June 7 (Fri)
University Festival (at Sapporo campus) June 7 (Fri) – June 9 (Sun)
Summer term (undergraduate students) June 11 (Tue) – August 6 (Tue)
Summer term (graduate students) June 6 (Thu) – August 2 (Fri)
Course cancellation period (summer term) June 20 (Thu) – June 21 (Fri)
August/September Summer break August 7 (Wed) – September 27 (Fri)
Open campus August 5 (Mon)
Graduate student entrance exam August 20 (Tue) – August 21 (Wed)
October Fall semester begins October 1 (Mon)
Fall term (undergraduate students) September 30 (Mon) – November 27 (Wed)
Fall term (graduate students) September 30 (Mon) – November 26 (Tue)
Student festival at Hakodate October 13 (Sun) – October 14 (Mon)
Online course registration period (fall, winter terms) October 8 (Tue) – October 15 (Tue)
Course confirmation and cancellation period (fall, winter terms) October 23 (Wed) – October 24 (Thu)
November Winter term (undergraduate students) November 29 (Fri) -February 4 (Tue)
Winter term (graduate students) November 27 (Tue) – January 31 (Fri)
December Winter break December 26 (Thu) – January 3 (Fri)
January Classes resume January 6 (Mon)
No classes  (preparation for National Center Test for University Admissions) January 17 (Fri)
National Center Test for University Admissions January 18 (Sat) – January 19 (Sun)
February PhD dissertation defenses February 5 (Wed) – February 10 (Mon)
Master’s degree thesis defenses February 12 (Wed) – February 18 (Tue)
Graduate student entrance exam February 19 (Wed)
March Graduation ceremony at Hakodate March 26 (Thu)