Education in the School of Fisheries Sciences

Students who enter the School of Fisheries Sciences study general subjects at the Sapporo campus during their first year. At the end of the first year, each student is assigned to one of four departments based on the academic results of the first year and the student’s wishes: 1) Marine Biology, 2) Applied Marine Science, 3) Aquaculture Life Science, or 4) Marine Bioresources Chemistry. In their second year, the students study specialized subjects in their department at Sapporo. After completing the second year, the students move to the Hakodate campus for more specialized study and experimental work during their third and fourth years. Students receive one unit of credit for each of the following: 15 hours of lectures, 30 hours of seminars, 45 hours of laboratory work and practical training. Students who complete the required courses and units receive a bachelor’s degree in fisheries science.

Departments and Related Laboratories and Chairs 

Departments Related Laboratories and Chairs
Department of Marine Biology
Marine Biology and Biodiversity
Marine Bioresource Science
Marine Environmental Science
Interdisciplinary Sustainability Studies 
Marine Chemical Resource Development
Department of Applied Marine Science
Marine Environmental Science
Marine Environment and Resource Sensing
Fisheries Engineering
Interdisciplinary Sustainability Studies
Department of Aquaculture Life Science
Aquaculture Biology
Aquaculture Genetics and Genomics
Marine Biotechnology and Microbiology
Department of
Marine Bioresources Chemistry 
Marine Bioresource Chemistry
Marine Food Science and Technology
Marine Chemical Resource Development